Fuckin’ ReThugs

This is the headline that should have been splashed across this country…..

Republicans block vote on troop pullout

Wed Jul 18, 2007 8:28PM EDT

Photo

By Richard Cowan and Thomas Ferraro

WASHINGTON (Reuters) – U.S. President George W. Bush’s fellow Republicans in the Senate on Wednesday blocked a Democratic proposal to force him to withdraw American combat troops from Iraq after a rare round-the-clock debate.

I’ve discovered Bob Geiger, who explains things so that I wonder how it is I didn’t understand them before, as in the Levin-Reed Amendment attached to the “big” Defense Authorization Bill [H.R. 1585 & S9301-S9310, S9317-S9366].

One of the jackasses speaking last night was Sen. John Thune (R) from S. Dakota; Thune came into the Senate by beating out Tom Daschle who was the incumbent, running for reelection. His pragmatism is lacking. One of his talking points was that those in the military with whom he spoke supported the Republicans’ approach and he expressed doubt that anyone in the military was opposed to the war and was not in agreement with the President’s policies. He was challenged for a few seconds by Sen Jim Webb from Virginia. I then happened upon this photo gallery at ABC News who has a story on the newest and apparently greatest of all military tactics – the surge. The photos are by Sean Smith with ‘The Guardian’ (UK). This quote was in the midst of the gallery.  (the photos appeared to be have placed somewhere; here’s video, which is just as disturbing.)

Attention Mr. Thune:

“Spc. Gabriel Vassell told Smith, “…We have people up there in Congress with the brain of a 2-year-old who don’t know what they are doing, they don’t experience it. I challenge the president or anyone who has us for 15 months to ride alongside me. I’ll do another 15 months if he comes out here and rides along with me every day. I’ll do 15 more months. They don’t even have to pay me extra.”
(Sean Smith/Guardian

