Update on waitress, Michele Griffin

red-arrow-diner.jpg

I thought I’d check up on the waitress who ‘duked it out’ with Mitt Romney in that New Hampshire diner a few days ago. (Edit: See here for previous post.) Now, I’ve been on a number of web sites who have gotten their story from either the Washington Post or NH’s Union Leader. As a significant number of people appeared to believe Michele to be a single mom, poor – thus on gov’t assistance, “popping out brats with serious illnesses” (as one compassionate soul put it), I did a bit of research and honed my listening skills.

Her name is Michele Griffin.

Michele is an employee of the Red Arrow Diner in Manchester, New Hampshire and has been for 12 years. She is married. She has four three children, three two of whom require medications for either specific medical or neurological conditions, as well as for herself. [Edit: 8/18/2007, 10:30 am MST] Her husband works two jobs, one simply to pay for their health insurance coverage. Apparently, they pay for their own plan via an insurer of their choosing due to the children’s medical conditions. [Some insurance plans offered by employers will deny acceptance into their plan based upon “preexisting conditions.”] She did mention in the video with Romney something about a premium of $1000 or more, then there’s the deductible on top of the premium the copays for office visits, medication prescriptions.

There’s an addendum, btw. Drew Cline at the Union Leader has pictures of Romney meeting with Griffin in the kitchen following his active campaigning at the Red Arrow Diner. Interestingly enough – certainly to me – Evangelicals for Mitt cite Cline’s referencing as a source in fairness describing Romney’s visit.

Now – to me – the single most disturbing part of this entire story is the attack on Michele Griffin. Her character, her choices, her intelligence, her level of education, her weight. And yet what not one of these imbeciles, who attack a working (tax-paying) member of our society, fails to highlight or even come close to discussing is Romney’s health care plan and/or what it entails. Nor do they discuss the greed of the insurance companies or the medicine corporations (Big Pharma). Some dimwit even calls for Griffin to be fired for being rude to the Mittster.

What this has done for me is to solidify my disgust and disdain for Mitt Romney. I was never a fan and certainly less so now. I’m not a fan of self-proclaimed pretty boys who believe in their own entitlement. And for what it’s worth, Mitt – you’ve incurred my wrath and thus engaged my attention and interest.

(And for something almost totally unrelated to the above, The Barenaked Ladies.)

5 Responses

  1. You wrote:

    “What this has done for me is to solidify my disgust and disdain for Mitt Romney. I was never a fan and certainly less so now. ”

    I looked at the Evangelicals for Mitt site and the Drew Cline site, and for the life of me, I could find no indication anywhere there that these folks attacked “her character, her choices, her intelligence, her level of education, her weight”. Without even checking Romney’s official site, I am sure that his folks there would not do such a thing.

    Perhaps there were people on YouTube who made disparaging comments regarding the video? You respect what folks say there enough to attribute their comments to the candidate and make a judgment of his worth based on that?

    Very sad indeed…

  2. Perhaps there were people on YouTube who made disparaging comments regarding the video? You respect what folks say there enough to attribute their comments to the candidate and make a judgment of his worth based on that?

    Very sad indeed…

    It’s apparent you did NOT read the previous post; perhaps I should have linked there. Somehow I thought folks would know to look for or see the previous post, which is the second entry below this. When perusing a website or blog I look it over fairly well.

    The Washington Post site had some incredibly vile, nasty, and idiotic comments. As that site was in the previous post, I didn’t post it again. I don’t what you are referencing in relation to You Tube. The Red Arrow Diner site had a song sung by the Barenaked Ladies about “beans-n-weiners.”

    I would also suggest you not return if you came here looking to leave your own disparaging remarks because it will not be tolerated.

  3. This is the Chimpleton modus operandi. These people are so scummy themselves, the only way they can make themselves (and the morons they choose to front them) look better it to try and destroy the character of those who would DARE breathe a word of dissent.

    “Michael Bush” follows the Chimpleton script to a “T.” He knows you had the proof available; he CHOSE NOT TO ACKNOWLEDGE IT. It’s a tiresome tactic that only works on the “twenty percenters” who still think every pronouncement Shooter makes is 100% accurate.

  4. Thanks J.R., they piss me off – and specifically, he pissed me off. There’s a guy who came here from his own ‘conservative’ site. Very respectful. I don’t mind at all, back-and-forth. I mean, I live in a so-called “red state” for christsakes AND certain family members are you know — over ‘there.’ We discuss politics all the time. There is, however, a limit. I rarely comment negatively on someone’s blog (in the event I actually have). Especially if I have no intention of returning because I view it just downright rude.

    The 20%-ers; it’s that high, eh? Even here it has slumped considerably.

  5. I just wanted to thank you for your blog I do have to tell you I only have three kids and they are my life. When I ask Mitt Romney about health care it was’t just for myself but for everyone. I just feel we all should get health care with out having to lose almost everything when someone becomes sick. And I was just trying to find out by frocing people to get it could hurt some people who do get help for low income housing I am really worry about these people they go by there gross income not what they net. How will they live will they have to go with out? that is what I was trying to get across But it came off as me being a mad women who did’t know what she is talking about. I also what people to know I do work and yes I am over waight but I have not always been a big women I take meds that I need to take that have made me gain I don’t like the way I look but it is not like I dont work out and watch what I eat. I think the most hateful thing said abot me was about my theeth I do take care of them the best I can but my kids come frist in my book and I just can’t afford to fix them I have them pulled. thank you for your time and have a great day. and I really hope people do look at the candidates for what they really stand for all the time not just for waht they are saying well running for president.

Comments are closed.

