Update for Crandall Canyon – now 17 days out

This just arrived from the SLC Tribune: Governor rips mine owner

brass-tag.jpgWhen Bob Murray blasted the governor of Utah (Jon Huntsman, Jr.), I wondered if Mr. Murray realized the governor was a Republican. I mean, I know simply because we live next door to Utah. Murray blasted Huntsman and accused him of “playing politics” when the governor called for an ‘independent state investigation’ of the events surrounding the mining tragedy at Crandall Canyon, as well as issuing safety inspection orders of Murray’s other mines wihtin the state of Utah.

Bob Murray’s treatment of the families of miners trapped in the Crandall Canyon mine was “unconscionable,” says Gov. Jon Huntsman Jr.
“There ought to be some modicum of respect for their human dignity in those cases and what [victims’ families] are experiencing,” Huntsman says. Continue reading

“I was the first man in and the last man out.”

I’m not sure how to say this without it looking bad for me. It takes a bullshitter to know a bullshitter.

Bob Murray is a bullshitter; I know. I’ve done my share of bullshitting. Fortunately I got clean & sober and have been reaping the benefits of sobriety, therapy, and growing up. I’m rarely able now tocoalminerlarge.jpg (tolerate) bullshitters or drama queens/kings. I don’t want to take the time or give up any energy in listening, let alone deciphering their bullshit.

From the moment I heard Bob Murray rambling on for about 10-12 minutes on CNN at that first news conference held regarding Crandall Canyon mine, I knew he wasn’t much more than a crass spotlight-hugging bullshitter, replete in that paradigm of grandiosity. Sometimes it’s hard stomaching the likes of someone so very ostentatious, especially when they are responsible for the lives of other people. He talked about him, his company, the importance of coal, more on him & his company before he made mention of the miners. At that time CNN called it ‘bizarre.’ Continue reading