Complaint filed against Craig by CREW

Just caught this:

Today, Citizens for Responsibility and Ethics in Washington (CREW) filed a complaint with the Senate ethics committee against Senator Larry Craig (R-ID) asking for an investigation into whether the senator violated the Senate Rules of Conduct by engaging in disorderly conduct.

Melanie Sloan, CREW’s executive director, said today, “The Senate Select Committee on Ethics should immediately commence an investigation into Sen. Craig’s conduct. If pleading guilty to charges stemming from an attempt to solicit an undercover officer in a public restroom is not conduct that reflects poorly upon the Senate, what is?

Not to mention that entire/whole lapse in judgement thing, huh Larry?

I put my vote in on the pool today for ‘by end of business today’ for his resignation.

Our ‘Own Private Idaho’

Woke up to a flurry of activity locally. Haven’t even gotten to the state level yet, let alone national!

I was checking with my AB buds and saw that I missed the eclipse! BUT! The moon was still a bit above the horizon. I don’t usually venture out during the week at 6:30 am – (mainly ‘cuz I work “2nd shift”) but I’m chasing the moon listening to the radio. Of course the topic is Larry Craig. Are ya kiddin? Oh, I should probably disclose these were ‘rock’ stations. The DJs are livid. Why? Because Craig lied especially in relation to the bullshit statement his office released last night. I mean, I do shit like that all the time – commit a ‘crime’ then plead guilty, and then think – duoh! I coulda had a lawyer! Ya know, one of the V8 moments!

Larry Craig’s statement:

“At the time of this incident, I complained to the police that they were misconstruing my actions. I was not involved in any inappropriate conduct. I should have had the advice of counsel in resolving this matter. In hindsight, I should not have pled guilty. I was trying to handle this matter myself quickly and expeditiously.”

Just earlier this month, Dan Popkey, the political editor at The Idaho Statesman, had written a column regarding the possibility of Craig running for reelection when his current term is up in 2008. Popkey’s column opens with this paragraph:

Should Sen. Larry Craig run for re-election in 2008 and complete a fourth term, he would be the longest-serving Idahoan in Congress ever. But the prospect of surpassing William Edgar Borah, for whom Idaho’s highest peak is named, is making Craig dizzy.

Larry Craig – – – Wm. E. Borah. OOkkay…on to other things. The Statesman touched bases with the other reps and senator from Idaho, all Republican, as well as Mitch McConnell, the minority leader in the Senate and they’re all “withholding judgment” at this time. Very gracious doncha think? Yesss..

As this morning’s editorial in ‘The Idaho Statesman’ records,

Sen. Larry Craig has spent 27 years in Congress — with rumors about his sexual orientation following him almost from the outset.

Now, after the report of Craig’s arrest at a Minnesota airport restroom, Idaho’s senior senator must speak candidly with the people who have hired him for more than a quarter of a century. He owes this to voters — no matter how difficult that may be for him and for his family. And voters owe Craig a chance to explain himself.

I could care less about his sexuality; I actually could care less about anyone’s sexuality. I do not, however, think this is about Craig’s sexuality. I think it’s about his hypocrisy, his lies I’m more interested in the “substance of their character” as MLK, Jr. described in a prominent speech. However, I’m not been much impressed ever with the substance of Craig’s character.

There are a slew of sites that have great information and follow through. I don’t have the time to full-time blog. I would though if I didn’t have a goddamned job. Oh that’s right, I need that job to pay housing and buy the cats food.

So here’s where to go for now while I’m working a real job . . . . . a few of my favorites. My very favorite Idaho blog, Red State Rebels, cannot comment as she’s working on the LaRocco for Senate campaign