The Cornershop: What Happened to the Right To Dissent?

Here’s today’s offering.rev-lennox-yearwood.jpg

Yesterday video was posted of the Reverend Lennox Yearwood being arrested by the Capitol Police outside the hearing room in which General David Petraeus and Ryan Crocker, U.S. ambassador to Iraq were testifying before the Senate Appropriations Committee.

I don’t understand why he was stopped from entering and I’m not even sure if others are clear on that either. I do know that the Reverend IS indeed a reverend. Pam Spaulding has a little more. I guess the Rev was trying to cut line or something. (??)

The Iraq Veterans Against the War has this by Rev. Yearwood in which he explains ‘who’ he is and what he is about.

Who am I? Many of you know me as a reverend, an activist, an architect of Hip Hop politics and a freedom fighter, but I am also an Officer in the United States Air Force Reserve. I have long been in the struggle for peace and freedom and I serve proudly as a leader of faith. I joined the military as part of the “poor peoples draft” – to help pay for my education. In May 2000 I was commissioned as an Officer in the U.S. Air Force Reserve and was accepted into the Chaplain Candidates program. In 2002 I graduated from Howard University School of Divinity, Magna Cum Laude. I was ordained a Reverend and Elder in the Church of God in Christ shortly after my graduation and today I remain in good standing in the Church. In May 2003 I completed the Chaplain Candidates program, but I decided not to pursue a career as a Chaplain in the Air Force. I have been in the Air Force Reserve Individual Reserve program ever since.

Part I:

Part 2:

If further interested, here’s an interesting find. There’s a hiphop site dedicated to expanding the ‘legacy’ of Tupac Shukar, whose music I actually listen to who has a news release on Rev. Yearwood, as does The Hiphop Caucus.

