Utterly Obscene – Fourth Fucking Tour!

In August, a young man from Pocatello was killed outside of Baghdad. As reported in the media, he was on his “fourth tour in Iraq and scheduled to return home next month.”

At the time two things I found obscene were:

  • “Fourth fucking tour!” (Like I wrote then)
  • You have the likes of fucking Mitt Romney comparing this young man’s service in the military to what his sons are doing for him – riding around in a goddamned Winnebago, campaigning to make their wealthy father, president of the country.

I’ve gotten a couple of comments that have been – um, let’s see here – stupid and downright rude….ya know the ‘fuck you’ or ‘go fuck yourself’ variety. Oh, fuck yourself right back.

Then again, there’s this left recently:

to say he died for nothing is wrong….what point are you trying to prove for him? he died for your fucking freedom. what sort of life is this anyway? He fought for a good cause that you can hardly comprehend, died for it, then people write fucking dumb ass blogs about how he fought for nothing. THAT is what’s disrespectful.

Listen – chumps! I never said Nick Gumersall “died for nothing.” I never said, “he fought for nothing.” YOU said that…..YOU said that what’s I said. It’s not what I said.

Today is one of those DON’T FUCK WITH ME TODAY days.

page3-ribbon.gif

I was in the military – the Army. I worked as an x-ray tech at military hospitals and clinics here and in Germany. Here, outside of basic and AIT, I was assigned to Ft. Campbell, Kentucky then to Germany to a field hospital. When I got to my unit, I was the only female xray tech in southern Germany, which meant that women (military, civilian dependents or civilian staff) no longer had to go Frankfurt for specific procedures. We used to get the ambassador & his family to Hungary (which is why I threw in the civilian designation).

Don’t come here attempting to start shit. If you want to discuss, that’s one thing – we can discuss. We can offer differences of opinion – civilly. However, I will NOT take your shit. Take it somewhere else. I here the freepers have openings.

I put up with too much shit, absolutely too much shit from men in the military to take any more EVER. I filed sexual harassment charges against my NCOIC at a clinic where I was one of eight women on a base filled with grunts – approximately 10,000, where we endured unbelievable harassment just walking from our clinic to the PX to eat our fucking lunch. I had charges filed against an officer for striking a young man who was enlisted, AND I filed complaints of racism against MPs for violations – all the while enlisting the help of my senator, Frank Church – who was head of the Armed Forces Committee.

Don’t come here with your shit.

One thing I do know about the military is the diversity of opinions and thought, especially regarding politics.

page3-ribbon.gif

Now – this is why I found this young man’s death obscene.

It’s not about Nick Gummersall.

Nick Gummersall didn’t die so I could be free. THAT is an outright lie. Free of what? Habeas corpus. Free of what I’m guaranteed under the constitution?

No, this is about our government, this administration who dived headlong in attacking another nation, unilaterally, based on lies and insinuations. To do that the administration had to use a force that was not meant to be used for military action abroad, the National Guard, in order to supplement the regular military. AND by doing that, it has also cut down on what’s offered to those members in The Guard who are injured, killed or make it back safely. Members of the Guard overall don’t benefit in the same way members of the regular forces do. I think that’s called fighting war on the cheap.

As far as I can tell, this administration is intent into running the military into ground ELSEWHERE so it will be unable to protect the people at home when the time comes. And it’s coming.

Not only that tours were extended to accommodate lapses and shortages in enlistments and then extended from 15-month to 18-month tours. When Sen. Jim Webb (D-VA) attempted to get a bill through that would allow a longer period of rest at home before going back into service abroad, who voted against it?

Secondly, those so enthused about this military action are also the ones who express reticence when it’s asked or even implied that they physically support ‘this war.’ Why, though? They have supported our role in wrongly invading Iraq under false pretenses. They, who have perpetuated our role in the destruction of Iraq, who encourage it, who finance it, who promote it – are NOT doing a thing to fight it, physically nor have any intention of having their family actually fight. Downright, flat-out cowards.

The two examples I originally cited were Romney & Cheney:

Romney: And one of the ways my sons are showing support for our nation is helping me get elected because they think I’d be a great president.’

“Yeah, right up there with Cheney’s 5 deferments ‘because I had other priorities’ during the Vietnam War era when I served. And, Romney’s own because he was on a mission for the LDS church.

Yeah, there’ll be more . . . . . .

2 Responses

  1. I’m in Minnesota and at issue has been the refusal to accommodate the Nat’l Guard who have returned from Iraq. It’s put their view of this administration in an entire new light.

    That line “they fight for our freedom” is scoff-worthy. Not in Iraq they don’t.

    There was also this today “The US Army will need three or four years to recover from the strains of repeated deployments to Iraq even with a planned drawdown of US forces next year, the service’s chief said Monday”

    From Yahoo News

  2. Four tours, how sad. It seems like the odds are stacked against our soldiers and marines in Iraq. You live through one tour, great! Guess what, back you go for the second one. Wow, you were slightly wounded, wonderful! Now you get a purple heart. Oh, did they mention you are going back for a 3rd rotation? Survive that? We better send you back one more time, KIA. How sad, we’ll send you home in a box and give your parents a nice flag. NEXT…..

    It is almost as if Bush wants to see more and more American dead. Those dead enders who still support this god awful war have no intellectual leg to stand on. Bush has changed his rationale for the debacle so many times his supporters are left spinning in place trying to keep up. Those that have died in Iraq are not dying to protect us. They are dying trying to protect their comrades as they struggle to make it to the day they can come home. The United States is an occupation force in Iraq. There will be no hope of reconcilliation by the Iraqis until we are gone. Many Iraqis will die when we get out. As long as America’s sons and daughters are not the ones dying I am at the point that I really could care less if the Iraqis choose to keep killing each other.

Comments are closed.

