Just a bit More on the Nobel Peace Prize

nobel-peace-flip-side.jpgThis has been the first weekend in which I have not needed to work for the past month. There was work; I just told my boss I needed two days off. Yes, we get paid overtime plus callback bonuses. But, it’s not the money; I needed the resting up so I could ‘catch up.’

I saw this at Nils Ribi blog and was going to mention it in between naps, talking walks in the sun, reading, another nap with the cats, watching movies, reading, and yet another nap. My grandfather was from Norway; he was a carriage maker. Here in the States, the ranch he bought in Montana is still operated by one of my cousins. I don’t have much from him because I never knew him, he died from the flu in early 1920 – a few months before my father was born. My grandmother gave me the few books she had of his, some in Norwegian, most in English – among them Norwegian writers Henrik Ibsen, Alex Kielland, Bjornson, and Jonas Lie. Of those four, there are 11 books written by Ibsen alone. Nope this doesn’t have a damn thing to do with the Nobel Peace Prize or the Nobel Foundation, other than Norway was the place from where Alfred Nobel determined the prizes would be dispensed, rather than his native Sweden.

However, I did think of my grandfather and his very progressive contribution to my library when I read what Nils had written here.

The best thought is the hope for the future of the planet as climate change awareness has been raised to a much higher level. I have thoughts about my Swedish mother and all the discussions we had about the various winners of Nobel Prizes when she was alive. I have thoughts of my father, an amazing biochemist who did his post-doctoral work with two Nobel Prize winners and was more than once nominated for a Nobel Prize himself. Had he lived a longer life many believe he would have gone back to Stockholm to receive one himself. And of course I have been thinking about my meeting with Vice President Gore this past January in Boise and the discussion we had about climate change.

I am suitably impressed, Nils. Oh – and meeting Al must’ve been a hoot as well.

.

Note: Read more about the coin above if interested. It’s the flip side of the Nobel Peace Prize

