Rocky Canyon basin

Some years ago, down off Rocky Canyon Road , there was some kind of mining type cave – we were never sure exactly what it was. Reading up on HR 2262 the other day I thought I’d just take a drive and see if it was still there. Well – kinda.

 ∞

 There’s a couple of spots I’ve always liked. One is driving down in Rocky Canyon basin and the freshness of the colors set against the roughness of the hilled background.

rocky-canyon-road-2.jpg

hitting-bottom1b.jpg

The light/dark contrasts

hillside-2a.jpg

tight-curve1a.jpg

I would’ve driven to the ‘other side’ meeting up with Robie Creek road – eventually – but two things were cause for caution. I had less than a quarter of a tank of gas, and having to report in work in two hours. Sometimes those spur of the moment moments are a tad tight.

13 Responses

  1. I once lived in Idaho, and seeing your photos brought back a lot of memories. Nice pictures, they have a “Painterly” quality about them. The first photo is especially beautiful in its tranquility.

    I’m visiting your site from your comment at WhiteNoiseInsanity, and I wanted to share some advice with you. You would fare better to avoid that place. You can explain till the cows come home that you are not a NeoCon plant but you will never be believed. Kay is a very jealous, envious person, and your blogsite far surpasses hers in quality and content, so already you’re off to a bad start in making her acquaintance.

    To quote her, “Wordsmith, I appreciate your “kind words”, but you’re part of the “group” and I don’t pander to anyone that is. You’re welcome to come by, of course, but if you’re here out of the blue to “spy on Kay and to report back to the WATBs”, I’m not going to take too kindly to that.”

    Not much of a warm welcome.

    Also, “Mirth” is a liberal blogger at http://thepeacetree.blogspot.com, and contrary to everything Kay says about her, Mirth is a progressive Liberal and a nice person. But she’s attacked unfairly by Kay on a regular basis.

    I have no idea what “WATBs” stands for. Maybe you can clue me in.

    Again, I find your blogsite most creative, and the Addams Family post cracked me up. Perfect.

  2. Ya know, the funny thing about those pictures, they’re taken with my little HP Photosmart digital camera. I have a ‘old’ type (that’s relative) 35-mm Praktica that I usually use for photos, but I was in hurry that day.

  3. Wordsmith, I would certainly not say “little HP Photosmart…” because obviously your camera is quite worthy and capable of capturing the vastness of Idaho.

    The only flaw I see is that damn cellular tower in the background on the left — our landscapes will never be the same again.

    However, and you might find this funny, but there’s something about wind turbines that I find elegant. Nearby is a wind farm with 6 turbines and I am always awed by the sheer size of them. I wouldn’t mind seeing that in a landscape, it would remind me of old Dutch paintings. (Yeah, I confess I just saw your new comment at WNI, forgive me for lurking.)

    The thing I want to know is, what effect do these turbines have on migrant bird populations? I guess I should do some research.

  4. These pictures are beautiful, and provided me with a soothing respite in a day where I am seething over the approaching sound of fascist jackboots. I agree about the ‘painterly’ quality to them, but that’s just because they are exactly the kind of setting that landscape painters prefer.

    And Liberal friend, I can help with that – WATB, knowing Kay as I do, has to stand for Whiny Ass Titty Babies. Name calling serves her as a substitute for actually having a legitimate complaint about someone. Neocon plants, unruly snobs, backup dancers, etc., etc.

    Her favorite method of putting someone on her ‘out’ list is the time dishonored ‘guilt by association’ routine. I got on the list by defending Gregory Lyons from her unwarranted attacks, and a LOT of people have since gotten on for associating with me. But you’re right, the whole situation is best ignored.

  5. Whiny Ass Titty Babies…….. thanks SBT. I don’t know that – no, I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t have spent any time attempting to figuring that out. I’m just so not interested in spending any more reflecting on it at all. I’ve got stuff to do.

    The wind turbines…. we’re looking into it here because of a couple of wind farms coming here with one along the Columbia Gorge, where it IS amazingly windy. I don’t know that much about them. I’m checking some things out. There’s a wind farm out of town about 100 miles. I’m going out this weekend to investigate. ;D

    Kay had written something recently about a wind farm and I wanted to see why there would be resistance to such an environmentally sound solution to energy.

    I’m supposed to be working….. 😉

  6. I’m hesitant to drop in on this particular thread, but here I am none the less. I came to thank you, Wordsmith, for adding Liberally Mirth to your Blog Mates, a favor I will return, but I stayed because of this lovely post

    Picture #2 brought back a wonderful memory of a drive between Boston and Portland, ME in late afternoon sun, with interrupted shadows across the road just like in this photo. The dark and light flashed across my eyes in a hugely pleasurable way, almost hypnotizing me. The photo brought back that nice experience.

    A Liberal Friend: Thank you, sincerely, for your kindness. Even untruths have weight in print and what Kay writes about me is sometimes hurtful.

    There is a windfarm in California that is…well, as you wind through the high hills where they are massed, they seem almost magical. A beautiful sight! And to know their purpose makes seeing them all the nicer. I wasn’t aware they are so noisy; I didn’t hear noise other than the shushing of wind when I stopped to photograph them, but maybe they were too far away.

    I suppose as we begin alternate energy sources, if we ever do, we’ll have to fight the not-in-my-backyard crowd.

  7. I saw at Les Enrages that you have added Mirth and I’s blog to your blogroll. Thank you for such an honor! I will do the same right now.

    I really love the look here 🙂

    Here is Mirth’s post from August on MTR mining you might find interesting. So sad when there are such better ways.
    http://liberallymirth.wordpress.com/2007/08/29/mtr-coal-mining/

  8. Ooops. You were already on it.

  9. I wrote a comment earlier, but it didn’t appear. I’ll try again and hope you don’t end up with two. 🙂

    I’m hesitant to comment on this thread. I came to thank you for the compliment at LE and for adding Liberally Mirth to your Blog Mates and to say I have returned the favor. Now as I read your blog I return the compliment, as well.

    I stayed because of this post, especially picture #2 which reminded me of a drive a few years ago between Boston and Portland, ME with those intermittent slices of afternoon sun and shade flashing across my eyes. It was a wonderful experience, almost hypnotic, and I haven’t thought about it in a while.

    A Liberal Friend: Thank you for your kindness. Even untruths carry weight in print and the things people write are sometimes hurtful. You give the best advice, which is to avoid such places.

    There is a huge windfarm in California that I once drove winding roads through. The sight of them was beautiful, almost magical, and to know their purpose made it even nicer. I wasn’t aware that they are so noisy. When I stopped to photograph them I didn’t hear more than the shushing of wind they caused, but I may have been too far away. I am hoping that once we begin to develop alternative energy sources, if we ever do, that we don’t have to fight the not-in-my-backyard bunch.

  10. 🙂 to dave

    😦 to Wordsmith for the double comment. Feel free to delete one!

  11. I wanted to see why there would be resistance to such an environmentally sound solution to energy.

    Who knows, some people are NIMBYs just for the sake of it. It reminds me of a story I heard some time after the Pickering nuclear power plant opened up here in Ontario. A group of fine citizens got together a petition that barked and whined about the radiation hazard that they perceived themselves to be subjected to because of the plant’s existence. Thing is, they lived nowhere near the plant, but dozens of miles distant. They did however live in proximity to the power lines that carried electricity generated at Pickering. I guess nobody ever told them the difference between a neutron and an electron.

  12. All right finally home from work….

    Did I say I was going to check out a wind farm this weekend? I know I was thinking it. I do this with my daughter. I’ll think of something to tell her, see her and start talking as though I’ve already told her. Then she does that talking s-l-o-w thing to explain, which drives me fucking nuts!

    I’m following HR 2262 because of the possibility of a gold mine operating up river on the Boise River. I’m not well-versed yet in the particulars. Still reading.

    Mountain top miniing is fucking unbelievable. It reminds of strip cutting in the forests (forgot the term). The SCOTT paper company was responsible for some places I saw in Washington. Mining on steroids basically. We lived in Kentucky for 3-4 yeasr while in the military at Ft. Campbell and Ft. Knox – traveled a lot and got interested in mining there, as well as from teh aspect of social justice.

    I was reading a local guy up in Sun Valley (he’s a city council member there) and he was talking about other energy sources, and The New West had an article on wind farms on the Columbia River in the Columbia Gorge.

    I don’t know. I don’t have much of a problem with wind power. I find the turbines soothing. Couldn’t tell right now as to why. Some of it has to do with the use of such a powerful resource as the wind, which I love. I love walking on windy days or just being outside when it’s windy. Even cold days…briefly. 🙂 The noise factor doesn’t seem to get to me. Electrical power plants, that noise bugs me but electricity scares me as well.

    There appears to be quite the environmental concern regarding migratory birds. That’s the big thing in the New West article.

  13. Great photos, Word Maestro!

Comments are closed.

