The School Nurse and the Wilder School Board

Here’s what appears to be the latest. The school board in Wilder spoke to the two parents who were concerned about their daughters having been given birth control (Depo shots) at Southwest District Health Dept in Caldwell.The Argus Observer in Ontario has news for the far western reaches of Idaho. KIVI – Channel 6* has a neophyte on it as well.

Without wandering over to the Law Library or talking to my representative in the state legislature, I tracked some information about parental consent and obtaining birth control.

Twenty-one states explicitly allow all minors to consent to contraceptive services without parental permission.

[Source: “Minors Access to Contraceptive Services,” State Policies in Brief, AGI, Dec 1, 2005.]

As of the information provided at this website, Idaho is one of those 21, as of Dec 1, 2005. The Baltimore Sun has some graphs provided by the Guttmacher Institute that shows similar information as of October 19, 2007.

However, the Guttmacher Institute has this on its website which shows Idaho is STILL one of the 21 states that allows minors to obtain contraception without the consent of parents.  As with the other 21 states, the phrase ‘all’  applies to or includes those age 12 and above.

≈ ≈ ≈ ≈

*not necessarily conducive to use in Firefox; more partial to Internet Explorer

8 Responses

  1. Thanks for the AGI link. Still worried that the nurse will lose her job. And I expect that we’ll see some proposed legislation on this topic in the next session. Sheesh.

  2. Unwanted kids tend to grow up to be Republicans, which must be why the right-wingers get so worked up about the issue. Which is also why I’m having a hard time imagining how the school nurse in question will survive the furore with her career intact.

    ~~
    {Not Spam — Dec 13, 12:04 PM — [ View Post ]}

    I apologize. Found this in the spamanator, marked it ‘Not Spam’ then promptly deleted it. Fortunately (fer some reason) I copied it prior to my inadvertent fancy fingerwork.

  3. And Sisyphus – that’s exactly what I thought. These assholes will be pushing for parental permission/notification laws this next session.

    I’m hoping this won’t mean the loss of her job.

    I’m uncomfortable with the parental notification. I know I wouldn’t have EVER asked or talked to my parents about getting birth control. I also wasn’t sexually active in high school. I was too poor and the stigma of that alone kept many from associating with me. On the other hadn, my daughter at 17 asked me to take her to PPAI….so, there ya go.

    Another thing – I was reading about Matthew Murphy – the young shooter at New Life Church in Colorado Springs, who was home schooled, etc. He talked about his mother ‘shaking him down’ after being out with friends shopping or anything because of the evil influences. It is SO about fucking CONTROL.

  4. I let my daughters decided when they wanted to go on birth control. They all had to deal with painful cramps every month and the pills helped with that, but I also wanted to be sure they didn’t get pregnant. I would love to think that they weren’t having sex, but I wasn’t stupid either. Also, with the high incidents of date rape, it’s something that should be considered, too.

    I’m not sure about a school nurse handing out birth control, though. Don’t they have to get an exam first before being given a birth control injection or pills? What if the girl is already pregnant and doesn’t know it yet? The Depo shots could cause the fetus to be deformed or miscarry. No? A doctor should examine the girls first…that would be the safest thing to do, IMO.

  5. “I let my daughters decided”

    I let my daughters DECIDE…I really can speak English when I try hard enough. Sorry ’bout that!

  6. Clearly, the option should be there simply because society benefits from it.

    The Jesusistanis can weep and wail all they want, and they’ll never change human nature. The contraceptive law reflects a realist’s view of humanity.

  7. I’m not sure about a school nurse handing out birth control, though. Don’t they have to get an exam first before being given a birth control injection or pills? What if the girl is already pregnant and doesn’t know it yet? The Depo shots could cause the fetus to be deformed or miscarry. No? A doctor should examine the girls first…that would be the safest thing to do, IMO.

    Mary Ellen –

    There hasn’t been a lot ‘in the press’ about this. What we’ve gotten is that the nurse DROVE the girls to a clinic at Southwest District Health (if I’m correct, top of the head thing here – it’s a state agency – Public Health agency). The school nurse was NOT HANDING OUT birth control or providing the students with the Depo shots.

    As an aside, I don’t have that much of a problem with nurses, PA, NPs, CRNPs, etc., interviewing or taking care of patients. But then I’ve worked in medicine all of my adult life and have worked with folks like this.

    Website for Southwest District Health

  8. I for one have been on birth control/depo shot at a young age as well. But i also know that i myself did not want to become pregnant but i also did not want to ask my mother for birth control. I mean what teenager really wants to go up to there parents & say “hey,im sexually active & i need birth control etc.” well i for one did not! because then i would be forbiden from my friends, my partner, my teen life basically! so do not blame the girls but also the nurse did not have the right to go & take them without their parents premission even though she was just trying to help.

Comments are closed.

