“If One Won’t, Another Dog Will Bark”

The incomparable Julia Carson (D-Indianapolis) died Saturday, the 15th; her funeral was the 22nd.

Carson, a Democrat, was first elected to Congress in 1996. She championed children’s issues, women’s rights and efforts to reduce homelessness, and was a staunch opponent of the war in Ira. . . . .

Carson opposed the war in Iraq and told hundreds of people at a rally in downtown Indianapolis just weeks before the 2003 invasion that it was an act of aggression only to protect U.S. oil interests.

“Truly, it is all in the name of greed and truly in the name of war,” she said. “We should have learned by the Vietnam War, but we did not.

Carson told NPR correspondent Daniel Zwerdling in a 1996 interview:

My mother dropped out of school when she was in the second grade. She lost her own mother when she was only four years of age — and for someone like me to be able to walk life’s journey into the halls of the United States Congress, as an elected member of that body, it’s most overwhelming…”

Her mother, Velma Porter, dropped out of school in the second grade. The second grade! I did some figuring and it would appear that Ms Porter attended school in 1928, 1929, 1930 – somewhere in there. What wast the equivalent of a second grade education in 1928-1930? Rudimentary skills in reading. How about math, basic arithmetic? I would bet the education Julia’s mother received was that which blacks received in the segregated ‘south,’ specifically Kentucky, of 1928-1930, although in Kentucky where Carson’s mother was raised, Jim Crow laws provided ‘separate but equal textbooks’ and ‘equal but separate accommodations to be provided on all public carriers.’ Enforcement of that statue was the key. I’m of the mind it took awhile.

Carson’s mother, Velma Porter, was 16 years old when she gave birth to Julia. It seems one underestimated, incredible woman gave rise to another fantastic woman who was the tireless champion for those who were in sore need of one – the poor.

The Indianapolis Star has a tribute page for Julia Carson complete with videos of the speakers.

Page with condolences from the U.S. President, fellow congressional members, political opponents and allies, and the citizens of her district and elsewhere who found in her a champion.

Carson at Rosa Parks’ funeral, Nov. 2, 2005

9 Responses

  1. Off topic, but what happened to Mirth’s blogsite? Did she move? Or is she as overwhelmed by all the corruption as I am and decided to avoid having a nervous breakdown by turning off the computer…

  2. Regarding Mirth’s blogsite, I heard that she was thinking of dropping it earlier but was talked out of it.I assume that she decided to follow through after all. I’m not sure what her reasons were, but as someone else pointed out to me, once you’ve decided to quit your job, there’s not much that’s going to keep you there.

    Hopefully she’ll find time to visit the other blogs.

  3. Ooops…forgot to comment on the post! The video shows that it’s no longer available and for the life of me, I can’t put the name with the face. I’ll go look on YouTube and see if I can find anymore videos of her.

    Thanks for putting this info out, I don’t know if I would have heard otherwise.

  4. The video is available – I switched it so you go straight to ‘You Tube.’ I don’t usually have trouble with videos.

  5. Thank you Mary Ellen. Yeah, you’re right about once you’ve decided to quit your job….it’s true.

  6. OMG– How did I miss THIS? Julia Carson was my Congresswoman when I lived in Indianapolis. I adored her– she was a true champion of the “little guy” and fought this illegal cheney war with all she had.

    I can’t believe it is December 29, and I’m just now finding out about this. I am truly sad about this.

    Julia, we can’t thank you enough for your tireless efforts to represent people who are ignored and discarded. Rest in Peace, and may the perpetual light shine upon you.

  7. It’s interesting to read about her life growing up under Jim Crow laws. Back in 2000 or 2001, she was stepping onto the elevator in the Capitol, and on it were several other Congresswomen/men. One of them blocked her entrance and told her that “this elevator is for Congress members only”.

    Julia was always true to her unruly self. Julia never dressed in the slick black pantsuits that is the uniform for Congresswomen, and she didn’t wear the standard “Nancy Pelosi” hairstyle. She was as authentic as they come, even if if it meant taking on a group of hostile elitists in an elevator.

  8. One of them blocked her entrance and told her that “this elevator is for Congress members only”.

    AND, as the story goes, Julia’s response was along the lines of: “And your point is?”

    When I read that I immediately thought of the likes of Nancy Pelosi or Kay Bailey Hutchison. The pantsuit queens.

  9. LOL! I found this about Julia Carson jsut now. She really did march to her own drummer!

    http://thehill.com/in-the-know/julia-carson-lingers-in-nougatocity-2006-12-13.html

Comments are closed.

