Today’s FISA Vote

Update – According to Marcy Wheeler at ‘Empty Wheel’ – Harry Reid thanked Christy Hardin Smith at firedoglake and McJoan from ‘Daily Kos’ for their “work” on FISA.

I’m at a schmoozy event at the Senate today–Harry Reid gave an opening speech focusing on the areas where progressive loud mouths have really helped out the Senate.

He spoke for a bit about FISA–repeating what he has said publicly (that if the Republicans won’t accept a PAA extension, then it will expire). But at the very start of his speech he named some of the people who had helped most on the FISA bill. McJoan (from DailyKos) and FDL’s own Christy were the first two people he mentioned.

~~~~~~~~

(Title update: Tomorrow’s Today’s FISA Vote)

Jane Hamsher at firedoglake has an invite out for a C-SPAN live blogging session later today. Hillary Clinton’s campaign has reported she will be in D.C. to vote ‘no’ on cloture regarding the FISA bill, the Intel version. So will Barack Obama.

Steve in Arkansas has worked out the details: “The magic number is 60 for cloture….59 to 41 is the same as 59 to 10. It’s the ~12 Bush Dogs + DiFi + Jay that control the outcome.”

The vote is at 4:30 pm EST – 2:30 pm here in the West.

Oh, and while we’re at it, I’ll just mention this here. Kathleen Kennedy Townsend and her brother, Bobby (RFK, Jr.) are endorsing Hillary Clinton. Kathleen and Bobby’s father was Robert F. Kennedy. So, Teddy and Caroline Kennedy Schlossberg in this corner endorsing Obama with their cousin and niece & nephew in that corner endorsing Clinton.

I respect Caroline and Teddy’s decision but I have made a different choice. While I admire Senator Obama greatly, I have known Hillary Clinton for over 25 years and have seen first hand how she gets results. As a woman, leader, and person of deep convictions, I believe Hillary Clinton would make the best possible choice for president. She shares so many of the concerns of my father. Hillary has spent a lifetime speaking out on behalf of the powerless and working to alleviate poverty, in our country and around the world. I have seen her work up close and know she will be a great President. At this moment when so much is at stake at home and overseas, I urge our fellow Americans to support Hillary Clinton. That is why my brother Bobby, my sister Kerry, and I are supporting Hillary Clinton.”

Political dynasties at work . . . . .


8 Responses

  1. […] Wordsmith wrote an interesting post today on Tomorrowâs FISA VoteHere’s a quick excerptare endorsing Hillary Clinton. Kathleen and Bobby’s father was Robert F. Kennedy. So, Teddy and Caroline Kennedy Schlossberg in this corner endorsing Obama with their cousin and niece & nephew in that corner endorsing Clinton. … […]

  2. now it’s kinda like the kennedy-clinton takedown.

    Down with Dynasties!

  3. Hmmm…..and there are an AWFULLY lot of them Kennedys, I mean, plenty enough to go around! 😉

  4. Hillary just wants to be president so she can toss Bill into Gitmo.

  5. Lots and lots of Kennedys–guess that happens when one brother has eleven children!

  6. Okay, Rich…..I’ve tried to come up with some clever response to you, but nothing is forthcoming. I will bet after this past week, Hillary’s about ready. I know I am.

    Ya know, Tara – RFK and Ethel always had these great smiles on their faces, too. I can’t remember how many kids Ted has; I do know it’s not close to 11.

  7. Teddy has three kids, I think. Two boys, Teddy, Jr., and then Patrick who serves in the House. And there is girl. Not Kerry, not Rory. Hmm…don’t know her name.

  8. Kara Anne Kennedy – The Google is da best.

Comments are closed.

