I Understand & Second Michelle Obama’s Sentiment

Jeezzzusss!  Talk about a total nonissue!  I ran across this tonight.  I missed the comment yesterday but it didn’t die today like it should have . . . . . let it die a nice quiet death.

 Michelle: What does this mean? (Updated)

Here’s a quote from Michelle Obama, via the Globe and Politico, that seems to have trouble written all over it:

“For the first time in my adult life, I am proud of my country,” she told a Milwaukee crowd today, “because it feels like hope is making a comeback.”

A lot of Republicans, and Democrats, and Independents will be surprised to learn that pre-Obama, there was no reason to be proud of America. Probably she didn’t mean that. But what did she mean?

Later – there was another update with the quote that Norah O’Donnell quoted today and just about came unhinged when Pat Buchanan was ‘attacking’ Michelle Obama. And why the fuck did have Cindy McCain have to weigh in?

Update: Here’s a longer, and slightly different, version of the quote:

“What we have learned over this year is that hope is making a comeback. It is making a comeback. And let me tell you something — for the first time in my adult lifetime, I am really proud of my country. And not just because Barack has done well, but because I think people are hungry for change. And I have been desperate to see our country moving in that direction and just not feeling so alone in my frustration and disappointment. I’ve seen people who are hungry to be unified around some basic common issues, and it’s made me proud.”

It’s the comments that struck me ……. this typlifies
What does this mean?Go back to school if you do not understand what she means!!!!! You have nothing to report.What are you trying to insinuate? You pretend to love America more than she does? Give me a break!!!

This is the best one:

Cindy McCain…wow. One, I want to say before you ever speak again, hold a town hall and let’s first see how many people’s lives you touch and what type and size of crowd you draw. For your first time out of the gate, I am shocked that you would have the nerve to go after a woman who is highly educated and involved. Michelle has done community service and does genuinely care about her country and the people in the country. After you start doing community service and really reaching out to people that are outside of your cosmetic surgeon’s office, then perhaps your voice and words will hold some meaning. Until then….get a makeover. You are representing the Republican Nominee, yet you choose to stand beside him with dark eyeliner, looking like someone fresh off the pole. Have some respect.

