Movies

Over the weekend I watched ‘Beowulf’, the movie. Like many, I read it in high school and again in college. Although I watched it all, I didn’t care for the “presentation.” It wasn’t what I expected. I’d have to ponder why because I loved ‘The 300’ – which used the same type of cinematic device, so to speak.

divider_grn-blue-black.gif

Just finished watching the first two episodes of the seven-part series of ‘John Adams’ on HBO. In preparation for that, I checked out David McCullough’s John Adams on which the HBO series was based. I’d forgotten Adams defended a tiny contingent of British soldiers who had fired on a crowd in Boston.

movie-reel-small.gif

Then I ran across this, ‘Leading to War‘ – you can watch online if you have the time; it’s 72 minutes long.

How does a government lead its people to war? How does it communicate to its citizens – and to the wider world – the reasons and rationale for initiating military conflict? What rhetorical devices and techniques are employed? And how is a nation brought to support the profound decision to wage war against another nation? These are the questions that LEADING TO WAR seeks to explore.

Being a fan of Ryan Phillipe just might have to check this one out. ‘Stop Loss’ – comes back from a tour in Iraq and is, you guessed it, stop lost…..

And I’ll guarantee you didn’t see this on the nightly news.

2 Responses

  1. My husband said he watched Beowulf last week and was equally disappointed in it. Like you, I really get into the historical mini series, but I don’t have HBO, so I missed that one. I don’t watch enough TV to warrant paying for a movie channel package. Heck, I think I must watch a total of 3 hours a week on TV, if I’m lucky….except during baseball season, I watch all the Sox games and a few of the other teams games, too.

  2. All in all, I don’t watch much TV either. HBO I do get during the winter because of one series, ‘The Wire’. I use the TiVo to tape Olbermann, Bill Moyers, The Closer, Saving Grace….. and then watch on bad weather days.

    John Adams is worth the cable bill this month.

Comments are closed.

