Local Flavor Happenings on Friday

This year’s legislature has closed up shop. I didn’t get it into as deeply as I wanted; national politics has a stronger pull on me. The only thing I can offer in my defense is, uh – well, it was the most I’ve been interested in Idaho politics since 1990. Annddd for half of that time I was in Ohio where, in contrast to Idaho’s politics, it actually runs the gamut from Mean Jean Schultz to the likes of Dennis Kucinich – who was actually my rep, btw. That may have been for the better.
I’d still say we didn’t accomplish a lot,” said Rep. Dennis Lake, R-Blackfoot, who chairs the powerful House Revenue and Taxation Committee.

books.gif

Then there was the excitement of Jim Hansen becoming Executive Director of the Idaho Democratic Party. I was impressed when I saw him at the protest marking Abu Gonzo’s visit to Boise last summer. I don’t know him well at all. However at the time, I did at least recognize him as a former legislator. I do visit his site, United Vision of Idaho – current executive director – a few times a week, reading the ‘UV Eye Opener‘ as well as stopping by the United Action for Idaho.

“I am committed to rebuilding the Idaho Democratic Party from the ground up, precinct by precinct, county by county,” Roark said. “The Idaho Democratic Party is standing up for the middle class, working to make government transparent and protecting the Idaho lifestyle against corporate greed. Idaho needs a strong and vibrant Democratic Party and Jim Hansen will provide exactly the kind of executive leadership and direction we need to make our voice heard at this critical time.

“With Jim Hansen as our Executive Director, the Idaho Democratic Party will be in a position to better help Idahoans become more active participants in shaping the future of their communities and their state. The huge public response to Democratic Caucuses two months ago demonstrates that Idahoans are not only ready for change, they are ready to participate in making that change happen.

The best headline has to go to 43rd State Blues:

Jim Hansen to become Executive

Cat Herding Poobah at the Idaho Democratic Party

Noo – really it’s informative. The usual suspects are writing it as well so there’s no need to rehash stuff I really don’t know. BUT! In the event anyone is interested. The Republican House majority leader Jim Hansen defeated was Jack Kennevick – and – Jack Kennevick is one of Anne Pasley-Stuart’s uncles. Small, small world. I do know that my father voted for Jim’s dad, Orval Hansen. Oh, and the college where Jim graduated, (College of) William and Mary…… so did Jon Stewart. Yep, I know the important stuff. I do agree with Julie, I think the Ridenbaugh Press has the most succinct though expansive write-up on Jim Hansen.

