What Our Parents Do In Bed

Ran across this fascinating article about dementia and sex. 

She was 82. He was 95. They had dementia. They fell in love. And then they started having sex.

…..

And though the doctor never laid eyes on Bob, in general, he said, the fear of sex causing heart attacks is wildly overblown: “If you’ve made it to age 95, I’m sorry, but having sex is not going to kill you—it’s going to prolong your life. It was as if someone had removed the sheath that was covering [Dorothy], and she got to live for a while.”

The issue isn’t ‘sex’ really or even dementia.  It’s the level of comfort some have or not when discussing the likelihood of sexual behavior on the part of our parents.  I mean, we’re here – that didn’t occur asexually.  What IS the big deal with our parents having sex anyway?

4 Responses

  1. Our attitudes about sex came directly from them. My mother in law is a 79 year old widow. She’s taken up with her high school sweetheart who is so devoted but she’s had enough of marriage and she’ll have none of it. They venture up to visit and I joke that I will NOT have them sleeping together under my roof out of wedlock! Just to show them how silly that sounds these days.

  2. There’s something deeply sick about our society’s connection between sex and immorality. What a Freudian time-bomb to teach your toddler that you can’t even SPEAK about a certain subject, knowing that eventually the child will learn that he or she was created by this unspeakable act. Could the subconscious make a reasonable connection that a) my parents treat sex like something that is ‘dirty’, possibly loathsome b) I was created through an act of sex ERGO c) my parents hate the fact that I was created? Something to ponder.

    It’s good that in at least some households these attitudes are being shown up for how silly they sound.

  3. It is the image–I don’t need the image of it in my head, thank you very much Wordsmith! 😉 As an aside, I’ve taken to using your word, fuckery, every chance I get…giving credit to your brilliance, of course.

  4. Tara,
    When I was 16 or so, we were all driving in the car with my mother (sans Dad), she – for some unknown reason – brought up French kissing and how my father liked it and she didn’t. As SBT alludes to the “why” of Freud, it made me queasy. I would have rather listened to the kids next door parents talk about their sex life than listen to my parents.

    Personally, I think Sisyphus’ mother-in-law is on the right track.

    Could the subconscious make a reasonable connection that a) my parents treat sex like something that is ‘dirty’, possibly loathsome b) I was created through an act of sex ERGO c) my parents hate the fact that I was created? Something to ponder.

    Dude! You’re thinking too hard. 🙂

    And the word ‘fuckery’ – as fine a word as it is, I didn’t thunk it up. I found it at Firedoglake or Les Enrages.org. Some unruly had thrown it out there. However, I am certainly delighted you have the occasion to use “fuckery.”

Comments are closed.

