Reckless or Protective?

The other day at Red State Rebels six words about pushed me over the edge.  I came this close – to rattling off something unkind.

I’m really sad about John Edwards … both for how he cheated on his awesome wife Elizabeth (who apparently put up with it), but also for how his PAC shoveled money into his paramour’s company.

“Who apparently put up with it.”  That’s awfully judgmental I thought. Besides of the two Edwards’, Elizabeth, without a doubt, has always garnered from me much more in the respect department.  I’ve been of the mind that she has pushed harder for John Edwards’ stances than he.   Narcissistic and self-involved he called himself when referring to his affair.  Really?  That’s a nice way of saying, ‘I’m an asshole.’

I kept thinking of the timeline and the words Elizabeth Edwards posted on Daily Kos.

Our family has been through a lot……John made a terrible mistake in 2006….But he did tell me. And we began a long and painful process in 2006, a process oddly made somewhat easier with my diagnosis in March of 2007. This was our private matter, and I frankly wanted it to be private because as painful as it was I did not want to have to play it out on a public stage as well…..

My thought was about Elizabeth Edwards, her power, her strength, and the immense respect I have for her.  The above sentence that is underlined which references the return of her cancer is what pulls people in as well.  She’s a wonderful person, ill with a death sentence, and now we find her husband is just another political scumbag who fucks around on his wife, no better than David Vitters, Larry Craig, Newt Gingerich or that other asshole – John McCain.  But – I kept thinking of the timeline.  Then, I ran across this at the Huffington Post.

Even when I believed that Edwards was hiding something, I assumed Elizabeth was a victim. Now, that’s changed……we do have a statement from Elizabeth Edwards….The one upshot from her statement is that she knew about Edward’s affair prior to his run for office.

And that’s what struck me about the timeline as well.  She knew – and essentially, they both lied to us.  I don’t always read the comments at the bigger blogs, but I did read through some after the post and found this comment by someone named ‘Angie H’:

I am not upset about Elizabeth forgiving him. That is between them…..I am upset that she agreed that the best course was to have him run for President without disclosing the affair….. We (the people) have a right to expect honesty from our candidates. Not perfection, but honesty.

Yeah – their marriage is their own. How they handle their ups and downs is, I think, really between them.  However what I expected from both of them was honesty, and I’m totally disappointed that neither of the Edwards’ could give at least that.

One Response

  1. I am almost as tired of people judging how other people manage their marriages as I am about hearing about powerful men having affairs.

    Throw stones in your own house, kids.

Comments are closed.

