A Misfit in Society?

I heard this interview on PBS this morning – Fresh Air – apparently it’s a rerun.  Political comedic satirist – Mort Sahl.  I don’t know if I’ve known about him and simply forgotten or never knew.

About his ideology: “I’m not a liberal, I’m a radical!”

About liberals and conservatives: “Liberals feel unworthy of their possessions. Conservatives feel they deserve everything they’ve stolen.”

‘I’m not a liberal, I’m a radical.’   Perfect, just perfect.

He also discussed the latest in fashion, the McCarthy jacket. ”It’s a lot like the Eisenhower jacket except it’s got one extra zipper that goes over the mouth.”

Simply put, Mort Sahl reinvented stand-up comedy.

And, he found the press compliant in 2003…. he was also on the teaching staff as a visiting professor at Claremont McKenna College in the fall of 2007, teaching a class entitled, ‘The Revolutionary’s Handbook.’  I’ve actually heard of this particular college having looked into the Claremont School of Theology a bit ago which is also under the Claremont colleges umbrella.

