Constitution Day!

I hate when certain IMPORTANT celebrations creep up on me and the celebration of our government as established in the Constitution is one of those celebrations.  And disappointedly, The Google isn’t among those celebrating it with a specialized logo or anything today. 

I still love reading this:

We the people of the United States, in order to form a more perfect union, establish justice, insure domestic tranquility, provide for the common defense, promote the general welfare, and secure the blessings of liberty to ourselves and our posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America.

Two hundred, twenty-one years.  Seriously – only 221 years.   I hope we will be able to continue on.

One of the things I find intoxicating about revisiting something I supposedly knew quite a bit about is the learning of something totally new within that framework.  It’s like, how I’d miss that or did I even know it?

An option, laid out by those who framed the Consitiution “because they anticipated that Americans would lose trust and confidence in the federal government.

An Article V Convention was envisioned as a temporary fourth branch of the federal government that, once convened, was not under the control of Congress, the President or the Supreme Court.  The Convention of state delegates could only propose constitutional amendments, just as Congress has done during our history, and like those they would have to be ratified by three-quarters of the states.

This is as good a place to start as any.  Go check it out and see what you think.  I’m in the process of reading and deciphering. 

