Cable TV Withdrawal

Got rid of cable this week …. now I’m thinking of ALL the shows I could be watching.  You know – even the ones on the Weather Channel.

Of course, it doesn’t matter that I rarely actually watched TV, especially in the evening or nighttime.  I would just have it tuned to one of the cable news channel during the day when puttering about the house.

Tonight I watched the movie Rail and Ties with Kevin Bacon and Marcia Gay Harden as the primary actors/leads.  I’ve been a fan of Kevin Bacon since ‘Diner’ and one of the most unforgettable movies I’ve seen him in was The Woodsman, along with Mos Def.

This Mazzy Star song was part of the soundtrack from ‘Rail and Ties.’

2 Responses

  1. The Frogette and I gave up cable a few years ago, and haven’t missed it. (OK, I miss not seeing Battlestar Galactica, but I can deal.) We live entirely on Netflix now, even for broadcast shows, and we love it. Everything looks so good on DVD, and the quality of what we watch has gone up many-fold.

    I once did an R.O.I. on cable and it sucks. You do much better with a service like Netflix.

  2. I figure I’ll read more. What I want to see, I can view online. Even some of the shows on USA put the entire episodes online. I do love PBS.

    I get Netflix, too. And – can even get DVDs (and VHS if so inclined) from the library. And if real desparate can go to Hastings down the street.

Comments are closed.

