Home Time Reality

Well, time to get back to some “dad business.”

1.  His property is still tied up in an attempt to clear the title.  One sibling is still claiming ‘Mom liked me best and wanted me to have her half.’   It just means more money for the attorneys – and we’re majorally stressed about money as it is.  I even owe Boise Public Library $3.50!

2.   Due to number 1 above, I have to wander over to Health and Welfare and pick up an application for Medicaid.  Since he has no private funds right now to pay for his care where he is currently, he needs to file for Medicaid.  And the reason he has no private funds?  The sibling in #1 took it.

All right – I still get pissed even thinking about it for half a moment.

I do know this …. being poor is a constant test. And any attempt to get ‘help’ is a goddamned trial.

When in treatment in Ohio, there was a short period of time where I was finished with my drug/alcohol program at the VA and trying to survive the first month or so “out in the world.”  I had managed to get a part-time job at Mt. Sinai Hospital in Cleveland and for that ‘in between time’ I filed for food stamps. The people with whom I had to deal with at H&W were vicious and nasty.  All I could think was how thankful I was that I had skills and education that I wouldn’t have to deal with people such as this on a permanent basis.  I couldn’t imagine the battering someone’s self-esteem would take in dealing with such vile folks.

While I was sitting there stewing some guy told me if I were a veteran, I might try ‘Soldiers and Sailors’; they might be able to help and weren’t as atrocious.  And that’s exactly what I did, went to Soldiers & Sailors office (not the monument) and that little agency was able to help me with more than I actually needed or expected.  They helped with rent and food for that shaky time before getting my first paycheck from Mt. Sinai.   No test; no trial.

2 Responses

  1. The people at H&W sound an awful lot like the people working in the office of financial aid at ISU…

  2. Huh. Well – there have been a fair amount of transplants from ‘back East.’ 😀

    And I should say, the people here at H&W were fine; however all I did was pick up an application. I have to fill that out and fax it to Lewiston where the person is who handles all the elder Medicaid cases.

Comments are closed.

