Sinterklaas & 6-8 Black Men

sinterklaasA few days ago I found out about a custom in Holland involving the usual Santa Claus dude with a hitch. Black Peter.  Sinterklaas and Zwarte Piet (Santa & Black Peter). Now the Dutch celebration involves dressing up in court page type costumes and black face.  That’s right – black face, ya know – the Al Jolson shit. One of those things that just pisses me off.

Sisyphus at 43rd State Blues found some ‘You Tube’ of David Sedaris’ version, his interpretation of the Sinterklaas legend.  Below is the first installment; there are three, the other two are here and here at You Tube entitled ‘six to eight black men.’  which makes Sisyphus’s gift all the more impressive because I just happened to hear David Sedaris over the weekend on NPR and as bland as he sometimes comes across, I do enjoy hearing him.  And he can explain this ‘cuz it just pisses me off.

3 Responses

  1. […] Now the Dutch celebration involves dressing up in court page type costumes and black face. That’s right – black face, ya know – the Al Jolson shit. One of those things that just pisses me off. […]

  2. It’s Sedaris’ deadpan delivery that accentuates his writing style. He’s been to Boise at least three times, last time was February I think. If you haven’t, pick up one of his books. He’s made me laugh as hard as I’ve ever laughed. The story that made him famous was his tale working as Crumpet the elf at Macy’s one Christmas. NPR plays it every year and it has become as part of my tradition as listening to Vince Guaraldi’s Linus and Lucy. If you wanna laugh really hard read or listen to the chapter, “You Can’t Kill the Rooster” about his brother in the book “Me Talk Pretty One Day”.

Comments are closed.

