Making A Comeback

Despite the Dow closing at a low point yesterday, I’m making every attempt to keep up with the blog.  Nope – one has absolutely nothing to do with the other; just thought I’d mention it.  There’s a lot of news and stuff I want to post about, BUT ‘the family’ is keeping me pretty darned busy.

My sister who had a job with a local school district cannot find another within that school district.  She’s been applying for various jobs since September and it’s gone to someone else.  A consequence of that was having to move from one house (4 bedrooms, two baths, family room, 3-car garage) to another (3 bedrooms, 2 baths, 2-car garage, no family room) house that’s $200 lower in rent.  She has had one helluva of an awakening over the past 18 months, and especially in the past 4-5 months.  So we’ve been helping her move and clean.

In other news, my workplace is tightening up finances.  For my department, one of our biggest ‘clients’ is our wound care center.  There’s been some restructuring in relation to certain processes within the wound care center, and as a result I’ve gone from working the 2nd shift to working during the day!  Not only during the day, but being there at 8:00 a.m.  Now THAT is kicking my butt.

We had our semi-annual department meeting/potluck on Friday.  There have been several discussions about maintaining our work force.  Our CEO has promised no one will be laid off.  And, yes I do believe him.

