One & The Other

As far as I know one has absolutely nothing to do with the other. I stumbled upon two things, one I found decidedly fascinating.

Last summer we stayed at a totally cool place in Lincoln City, Oregon for a few days. They’ve updated their web site. They don’t have much up in the way of pictures where you can get a good feel of the eccentricity and eclectics of the place.  It’s wonderful.

However now they have a few additional ‘categories’ – one is for local events/happenings, and I found THIS!

Over The Rainbow Transformations presents
TRANSGENDERED FASHION SHOW
Saturday, February 28, 2009

Over The Rainbow Transformations will be presenting to the public a Transgendered Fashion Show at the Historic Anchor Inn on Saturday, February 28, 2009. Proceeds from the show will be donated to the Coastal AIDS Network and the Gay Straight Alliance. The fashion show is part of a series of events during the Fashion and Beauty Weekend Getaway, hosted at the Historic Anchor Inn on February 27-March 1, 2009 and organized by Over The Rainbow Transformations of Portland, Oregon. Spring fashions will be sponsored by The Dress Barn, Maurice’s, and Wilson’s Leather with everything from casual to dressy to outer wear….

I’m thinking my fellow theologian, Jessie in Minnesota, would now have a reason to drive thru Idaho.

pentacle

Not being the usual Hallmark Channel watcher I somehow managed to catch this about a movie on tonight, Saturday.  ‘Relative Stranger‘ stars Cecily Tyson – who I will watch in ANYTHING – and Eriq LaSalle, who I couldn’t stand on ‘ER’.

And then, there is the subject matter: African-American family life and an absent father’s return after abandoning his wife and two young children and staying away for six years. By and large, TV shies away from  politically-charged topics like absent fathers. Even daring outfits like HBO tend to keep their distance from such complicated cultural matters.

I’ll be tuning in tonight at 7:00 pm – Channel 312 (CableOne) or better yet, I should just set the TiVO.  I tend to listen to KBSU or KBSX all day and evening on Saturdays.


