Small Tribute to Natasha Richardson

Some readers go through phases where they’ll read just about everything a particular writer of books has published.  Sometimes, I am.  I thought I might do that with Margaret Atwood. I had run across her poetry first.  Then her novels ‘Surfacing’ and ‘Cats Eye.’  A few others that didn’t hold much interest or apparently I’d remember the titles.

Then there was ‘The Handmaid’s Tale.’ handmaid Scared the bejezzus out of me, even more so when the movie came out not necessarily because the film was so track with the movie, but because I knew and still know people who would like to see that kind of world.  The movie starred Natasha Richardson, Robert Duvall, Faye Dunaway, and Aidan Quinn in much younger forms.  So it was that I was truly  saddened to hear of Natasha Richardson’s death today. She embodied Offred.

Happened across this article that talks a bit about her politics and her role in ‘The Handmaid’s Tale.’  Then, there is this bit on brain injury referencing the confusion from yesterday on whether Ms Richardson had actually died or was “merely brain dead.”  A crude remark seemingly cruder when viewed in print, and I cannot remember where I saw it. It doesn’t matter now.

RIP, Natasha.

2 Responses

  1. Now I REALLY have to see this film! Thanks again for recommending it. I suppose I’m just stunned by Natasha’s death. So young, so vibrant.

  2. I feel bad for her boys – 12 and 13? Horrible age to lose a parent. I know, I know – any age is horrible…..but this is an especially tough age going from childhood into teenhood.

Comments are closed.

