Spare Me the Sanctity of Marriage Shit

This is what I love about the ReThugs – they are, truly, so predictable.

Defending the Federal Marriage Amendment Act, John Ensign (R-NV) spoke on the floor of the SenateDarlene Ensign and Senator John Ensign in 2004.

Washington, D.C. – Senator John Ensign took to the floor of the United States Senate today to defend the sanctity of marriage and urge passage of the Federal Marriage Amendment Act.

“Marriage recognizes the ideal of a father and mother living together to raise their children,” Ensign said. “Marriage is the cornerstone on which our society was founded.  For those who say that the Constitution is so sacred that we cannot or should not adopt the Federal Marriage Amendment, I would simply point out that marriage, and the sanctity of that institution, predates the American Constitution and the founding of our nation. Marriage, as a social institution, predates every other institution on which ordered society in America has relied.”

Which is exactly why John Ensign fucked a married woman not his wife, but an election campaign worker and her husband, why he – was … “a member of Mr. Ensign’s official Senate staff.”  Because he baaleeves in this stuff!  Now interestingly on his issues page, I don’t see Marriage.   I would think being a great defender of marriage, it would be all important issue. Guess not.  But ya know what – ‘Animal Advocacy’ is there.

But the best part:

Mr. Ensign, 51, is married and has three children. He and his wife, Darlene, were active for a time in Promise Keepers, a Christian evangelical ministry that promotes strong families and marriages.

Hypocrisy heaven…..

13 Responses

  1. […] People in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones. The GOP keeps placing its emphasis on faith and moral values. Then one of their own comes along and messes it all up. View This Pollpolls […]

  2. Given that he is a Veterinarian, do you think he was dating a dog?

    When I lived in Nevada it got to the point where his office pretty much wouldn’t take my calls.

  3. When I lived in Nevada it got to the point where his office pretty much wouldn’t take my calls.

    LMAO…..

    oh geez…..you didn’t refer to HIM as whale shit, did ya? That pic is of Ensign & his wife, btw. Don’t guess I pointed that out.

  4. Ah ha, I see you have ascertained that I am not exactly know for my tacit or finesse 🙂

    Probably didn’t call him whale shit, I generally reserve that for only those who are most deserving. eg. Duck Cheney, Numb Nutz et al.

  5. Perhaps he confused “sanctity” with “sanctimony.”

  6. Pretty clever, Tom. Your comments get hung up, not sure why. Did you see the library is set to open June 30th?! And we’ve eaten at Delsea’s already. Pretty darned good.

  7. Well, well, well… It appears Mrs. (Dr.) Hampton was the assistant treasurer for the National Republican Campaign Committee, had a job at the Dept. of Commerce and is an Ophthalmologist in Henderson, NV

    Interesting read* (sorta)… http://www.towerwatch.com/Testimonies/cynthia_hampton.htm

    *keep a vomit bag close by

    http://www.randytv.com/bowenvisit1.jpg

  8. Holy shit! Yuck,

    Listen – I’m not one to criticize looks – being the great beauty myself – but that woman was NOT what I was expecting from John Ensign. Someone, say, more tartish….

    An ophthalmologist, eh? Well – that does takes brains; however once you have $$$, you don’t want no one to get at it.

  9. I think his wife is pretty.

    Wonder what the motivation was for him to ‘ahem’ that other woman. Maybe he prescribed himself some drugs and took too many.

    Tartish… I like that word… May I use liberally?

  10. Ah – tartish…. I’m pretty sure I’ve heard from my Brit friends. Use as liberally as you find need.

    See my point was this: I’m quite sure John Ensign fancies himself a handsome man. [I’d call him blandishly nice-looking – meaning he’s not ugly, but he wouldn’t garner any attention from me.] Fancying himself as such, it would stand to reason he’d pick up a real stunner and looker; but damn! Is he into brains!? I might have to pick up a teeny touch of grudging respect. 😉

  11. Wowie, oh wowie…. There must be something in that republican kool-aid because they sure can’t keep it in their pants.

    I’m thinking that Mrs. Sanford is calling him whale shit right about now.

  12. I’m thinking that Mrs. Sanford is calling him whale shit right about now.

    ROFLMAO …… Ohhh – I’m pretty sure, that, and plenty more. she was pretty conspicuously absent. Sorry CC, can’t keep with these cheatin’ summabichs.

  13. I got it Word, Mark Sanford can blame it on the watermelon. Yeah, it was the watermelon, honey 🙂 hahahaha. Whale shit I say.

    http://media.www.thebatt.com/media/storage/paper657/news/2009/02/13/News/Watermelon.May.Increase.Sex.Drive-3629314.shtml

    Also, I’m pretty sure the Mrs. is not ever going to have this song on her iPod play list. ‘The Girl from Ipanema’

Comments are closed.

