Publicity Fallout from Breaking Guitars at United Airlines

How come we can’t get results like this ALL the time?

Dave Carroll posted his ‘United Breaks Guitars’ on Monday, July 6th, to You Tube.   By the end of the week, United was calling Dave . . . . .

Carroll had spent several months dealing trying to get United Airlines to reimburse the $1,200 he paid to repair a $3,500 Taylor acoustic guitar damaged on a flight to Nebraska in March 2008.

The tune with the catchy chorus had garnered some 1.5 million listeners.   In the meantime, United is donating $3,000 to a charity, per Dave Carroll’s suggestion – “Thelonious Monk Institute of Jazz for music education for kids.”   And Taylor – who makes the guitars Carroll uses, have given him “a guitar or two for my troubles.”

Cool…

DamagedGuitar

.Nope – still won’t fly United.

2 Responses

  1. As a rule I don’t check guitars at the ticket counter. It invites disaster as Dave C found out… I gate check my guitar whereupon it is returned to me at the gate I land at…. for a traveling musician though, it can probably be tiresome… hat’s off to Dave for the video and the great sound, even though I HATE country music. Great tune and wonderful harmonies… the hat’s on the singers were the coup de grace…

    Glad he got two Taylor Guitars… I have two myself and twang on them regularly….couldn’t do without…. peace

  2. Great tune and wonderful harmonies… the hat’s on the singers were the coup de grace…

    Gate check? Is this where the flight crew finds a place for it ON the plane rather than in the cargo hold?

    I’m actually very surprised the publicity paid off for Dave. Regardless, it’s almost a vindication for the loss of MY suitcase years ago.

Comments are closed.

