Saturday Cat Loving

The other day walking out to my car I saw a little kitty who looked ‘just like’ one of my two cats.  This one in the picture below. He was dumped almost three years ago in one of the patio wells of a ground level apartment where I live.  His name is Khaos, ‘cuz he’s a little crazier than the average shit-cat, but he has such PERSONALITY along with some very distinctive markings!  As it turns out, he’s a breed – an Egyptian Mau.  So now I’m wondering if he and and this other kitty are related.

khaos

I was watching him today while he was out on the balcony checking out this and that, lying upside in one of the chairs, flipping up suddenly because something moved in the tree.   Checking to see what’s happening on the ground, biting at the leaves on one of the plants, eating, drinking – doing cat shit.   Simply put – I LOVE CATS.   I especially love it that all my nephews are Cat Men even though they all have dogs, they LOVE CATS!

Two Events / Two Lenses

While cruising around looking at pics I ran across some photos from the ‘tea party’ in D.C. Some of the signs were interesting to say the least. This was one of my favorite.

TP12th

There’s a couple of photo streams at Flickr with numerous photos from the ‘protest’ today.  This particular photographer has the picture above in photo stream as well as a blog – My Muddled Thoughts.

A few impressions from watching the little I did on C-SPAN and reading around at the iReport page of CNN. Continue reading

Available Options for Local Po’Folk

I wanted to highlight some things I’ve noted since school started last week.  When my daughter was younger and in school she divided her time between public and private (Catholic) schools.  Regardless of our financial struggles, I don’t think she ever qualified for the school lunch program and I don’t think it mattered to me, really.  It was just another necessary part of taking care of her.  The entire time she was in Catholic school she was on scholarship and I had an income-adjusted tuition payment, along with the responsibility to volunteer a certain number of hours for the schools. And it certainly helped that we were very active in the community life of our parish.  For some reason – we were fortunate which makes this a bit poignant.

According to a story at KTVB on September 10th – Idaho is in the top 10 of foreclosures.

Florida, California, Arizona, Michigan, Idaho, Utah, Colorado, Georgia and Illinois completed the top 10 states for foreclosure filings.

Looking at the map provided at the Realty Trac website, the counties in Idaho with the greatest number of foreclosures filed are: Ada, (Blaine), Canyon, Jefferson, Kootenia, Teton, and Valley. (I can’t seem to find the rating list of state cited in the story from KTVB.)

This kernel of info on housing troubles is coupled with two stories focusing on easing the financial burden of those who might be suffering a bit in the stagnant economic climate here in Idaho.

For those children whose parent(s) are unemployed eligibility for “free or reduced priced lunches” may be an option to help cope.  Looking at the prices: Full price is $2.30, reduced price is $.40; that’s a $1.90 difference daily.  Paying $1.20 a week is more manageable than the $11.50/$12.00.   The Idaho Dept. of Labor also has a notice at the top of their page. Continue reading