Recalling Shirley Chisholm

Among my favorite women is Shirley Chisholm.  I was a junior in high school when she became a member of Congress, representing New York in the House in 1969.  In 1972 on January 25th, Ms Chisholm announced her intent to run for president of the U.S. Very few like her today.

“I stand before you today as a candidate for the Democratic nomination for the Presidency of the United States. I am not the candidate of black America, although I am black and proud. I am not the candidate of the women’s movement of this country, although I am a woman, and I am equally proud of that. I am not the candidate of any political bosses or special interests. I am the candidate of the people.”

‘Unbought and Unbossed’ is the title of Shirley Chisholm’s autobiography.  In 2004, filmmaker Shola Lynch released: ‘Chisholm ’72: Unbought and Unbossed.’  If you’re one of those history nerds buffs who watches C-SPAN and hang out at political blogs reading and posting, you’ll enjoy the video.  And ya know, Shirley has her own Facebook page. However, she’s not yet posting to Twitter – of course that would be quite a coup.  😀

The original premiere for Lynch’s film was on PBS’s POV series in February of 2005.  PBS has a page with a considerable number of links that lead to all kinds of places if one is interested.

One Response

  1. I always enjoyed Shirley Chisholm.

Comments are closed.

