New Digs

In mid-February, my daughter who lives in the North End of Boise found a carriage house (built sometime in the early 1910s) she thought perfect for me.  She never liked my apartment; she thought it too gloomy and dark; I didn’t.   However by March 1st, I was in the carriage house.  It’s a tad smaller than my apartment, but it has a great spot for a garden and we’ve got the grass growing green again and flowers.  Most of my immediate neighbors have introduced themselves.  And the cats – they are in heaven.  In and out, in and out.

It was a freakin’ chore to get stuff together & out of a third-floor walk-up – not to mention tiring.  And stuff was still in boxes until last weekend when I went through everything to decide what was to be in the house and what is to be in the shed out back for a small while yet.  We’re into the fine tuning stage….knick-knack placement and other minor ‘house management’ issues.

Two things:  I need a new tea jar.  And, I need at least three more fans.  This place doesn’t have air conditioning and I’d much rather live with the heat than go through the expense of getting an air conditioner, etc.  Fans will be fine.

So, I’m back to paying attention to the news.  I’m thinking of throwing cable to the curb because I’ve been outside more since moving than I have in the last 4 or 5 years, and I know over the summer I won’t be watching much TV.  And! I got the disc to watch movies from Netflix! via the TV using my Wii.

Here it is in all its battered glory.  The pink chair is for my granddaughter when they swing by on their bikes.  They live half-mile away.  Added a Cherie Buckner-Webb yard sign last week.   Perfect touch.

10 Responses

  1. Looks like a nice place. I hope you are happy there.

  2. Nice information for me. Thank you very much.

  3. Oh – thanks, slamdunk. I am happier actually.

    (let that yourfavoritegadget.com thru ‘cuz it seemed appropriate)

  4. Welcome to the People’s Republic of the North End otherwise known as Idaho’s liberal ghetto. That place looks familiar but I can’t place it yet. Very cute. Glad things are working out.

  5. Lemp, Sisphysus – over behind St. Mary’s & down – uh, east – or up. There’s an alley to the right as you stand facing the house with about 4-5 feet of space just perfect for a watermelon patch or chickens!

    My neighbors have all commented about my bumper stickers, and Nicole is my senator! So I’m content for a bit.

  6. I’m just glad you’re back among the blogging living…missed ya!

  7. I can see your smile from here. The vibes seem perfect.

    I’ll send you some of our happy bacteria for your garden.

    Have the kitties found their place yet?

    Sit back, relax and enjoy the trip.

  8. Have the kitties found their place yet?

    CC: Now THAT is a story in and of itself. They are in freakin’ kitty heaven – so to speak. Is the “happy bacteria” legal?

    Tara: How about those cowboys, eh? I still can’t believe the homophobic, dumber than shit kids were actually in the final three. What’s the world coming to – although, ya gotta admit when that Brandy (or was it Carol – couldn’t keep ’em straight) started going off (sore fuckin’ loser), Caite comment was just the best – ‘I’m here and you’re not.’ Uh-huh.

  9. hahahaha, you know me almost too well.

    Yes it is totally 100% legal, and EcoCert (100% organic).

    Site is still WIP, but will give you a good idea of what I’m up to.

    Other endeavors may or may not be, predicated on state of residence.

    Some kitty pic’s would be awesome.

  10. By the time we got to the final three, I was starting to like those cowboys! Never could deal with Caite though she did put Carol in her place (maybe it was Brandy…I’m with you on knowing which was which).

Comments are closed.

